Forum Navigation
You need to log in to create posts and topics.

Feeling like a failure

My previous post in this section of the forum was my rant about my inlaws. This post is the follow up.

Things have since looked up. My family and I are all moved out from my sister and brother in law's place and into our own apartment. My oldest daughter has her own apartment, while myself, my wife, our youngest daughter and her boyfriend live in another apartment in the same complex. Myself, my wife and our oldest daughter also work for the same company. All of our animals came with us.

So why do I feel down and like a failure you ask? Allow me to explain. Over two years ago, I fulfilled a lifelong dream when I earned my degree in mechanical engineering. The job that would change my life has yet to have been offered. We get by on what my wife and myself make, albeit barely. I want to make what I am capable of making so we can be comfortable. I want for my wife to have the option of not working if she chooses. I want to be able to help our children out should they ever need it. We have been helped out many times before so we know first hand.

I have wanted to be an engineer my entire life. I finally have earned the degree and now no one wants to give me a chance. My passion is engineering, but is also about income level. I'm done with living paycheck to paycheck with no money left over to save or fall back on when issues arise. I put in countless hours of work for my degree but now earn a fraction of what I could be making.

I feel like I let my family and myself down. It's very frustrating and it's like I am being punished and/or tormented by the universe for some reason. I just want to be given a chance which I vow to make the most of. It was especially discouraging not being chosen after conducting a final interview for an engineering position a few months ago. That was the closest I have been to being given a chance.