Forum Navigation
You need to log in to create posts and topics.

A very long story

Hi, I'm new here, nice to meet you all.

I have been writing the same story for about ten years. I have written several novel length drafts of about 80,000 words. Every time I write creatively I always return to this story (albeit in different forms, even if I don't intend to).
The story begins with a female energy emerging from "the blue". Energy is drawn from her and scattered across multiple realities. The story is narrated by the female and follows a character called Angela (the embodiment of the narrator's lost energy) in various fragments of reality.
The story is extremely complex and consequently I have been unable to satisfactorily complete it. I should say I am an experienced writer and previously completed a novel.
I am not channelling the story directly - ie I am not listening to a voice and transcribing (I wish!) But clearly it is coming from somewhere. I feel the story lifts the lid on many aspects of our being/existence and thus provokes resistance, so writing is often very difficult.

I don't see any way forward. I can't seem to complete it (it really is never ending, like a giant jigsaw puzzle which spreads out further than I can see), and I can't escape from it.

Comments or suggestions or questions welcomed

Ask the story to end, perhaps. And let the story guide you forwards into writing what to do next. Keep writing though, when you stop, it may be on block for a while, but at least during that time you can ask your writer guide for inspiration to complete it.

Welcome to the site, by the way. Join us in the group chatroom when able if you wish to 🙂

Thanks for your response, CelticRose. I have uploaded an avatar (which is actually the avatar of the story).